Losing Weight is Damn Hard

“Only loving your body when it’s perfectly fit is like only loving Tucker when he is perfectly behaved.”

This quote helps me realize it is okay to love your body even if it is not where you want it to be right now. You are on a journey and it is not going to be easy. I substituted children in for my puppy, Tucker.

 

Losing weight is hard, damn hard and I feel like giving up sometimes. But losing weight is also rewarding and I now have confidence in ways I never have before. I grew up being the “bigger” girl. I have never been comfortable or happy in my own skin and I got sick and tired of looking at myself in the mirror and hating myself. I took a picture in the mirror one day and it just hit me. I looked at that picture and asked myself “Is that really me? Do I really look like that?” I was terrified. I was at my highest weight ever and I felt disgusting. Most people start a weight loss journey to be healthy and live a cleaner lifestyle. I started my journey to be happy with my appearance and how I felt about myself.

I am 21 years old and come from a “bigger” family. We rarely had fruits and vegetables in the house and we always had chips and sweet tea. Not to mention, I did not even have the desire to try any vegetables. I have moved out and share a house with my boyfriend; we motivate each other and keep unhealthy foods away, like sweets and fast food. We have made goals for our journey, things we want to work towards, or what we consider now our end result. My goal is to be in size 7 pants at the end of May in 2016 and to run a 10 minute mile. His goal is to trifecta the Spartan races and I am going to join him on this journey. The Spartan races are running courses with a different variety of obstacles throughout, think of a mud run. There are three types of races: Sprint, Super, and Beast. For each race, the course length, intensity, and number of obstacles increases. If you complete all three of the races within a year that is a trifecta. Have any of you done a Spartan race? What are your goals for your journey?

I now eat healthy meals and plan out the week’s meals ahead of time so there is no temptation driving home from school, work, or the gym to pick up food. Knowing I have to eat healthy to lose weight, something in my brain just clicked, I am not afraid to try new foods, like vegetables, and I now enjoy vegetables with my meals. I also go to the gym 3-4 times a week. I have more energy and I am more active. When I sit around the house for the day I feel disgusting and when I eat bad foods I feel disgusting. My body is on a routine and has followed a new habit of a healthy lifestyle.

I have something called Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS), which is where I have urges to use the restroom right after I get done eating and certain foods or stress triggers it. I know where every bathroom is in every store I ever walk into because it is a necessity living with IBS. The more I started eating healthier and not eating foods that would trigger my IBS, the more I feel like a normal human being. I don’t have to leave my friends in the middle of the mall to find a bathroom or get out of lines at theme parks because I have to go to the bathroom RIGHT NOW!

Within the first two weeks I lost 4 pounds. Many people will shrug off 4 pounds, but 4 pounds is a big deal! I look better, I feel better, I am confident. I have lost an inch around my waist and continue to shred fat. In total, I have now lost 5 pounds. I started slowing down because life still happens. I don’t eat perfect all the time and I skip out on gym sessions sometimes, but that does not stop me.

I am a new person and it has finally hit me what I need to do to become a better me. I started this journey to be happy with the way I look, but it has now evolved into me loving the way I look along with maintaining a healthy lifestyle while motivating others to love the skin they are in. What was your ah-ha moment that made you start your weight loss journey? What are some of your favorite tips you have received from people who have already shed their extra weight?

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

